Worker Resources

Please see the links below for information about a variety of programs that may help workers with the potential economic impacts of COVID-19.

Updated 5/7/20

Paid Sick LeavePlease click here for information on the use of Paid Sick Leave related to COVID-19.  Note that paid sick leave may be used for illness, treatment, and preventative care (i.e. self-quarantine).

Sick or Quarantined Workers: Sick or quarantined workers may be eligible to file for State Disability Insurance, with benefits ranging from 60-70 percent of wages (depending on income) and from $50-$1,300 a week. Please click here for more information.

Worker's Compensation: On May 6, 2020 Governor Gavin Newsom signed Executive Order N-62-20, stating that any COVID-19-related illness of an employee shall be presumed to arise out of and in the course of employment for purposes of awarding workers’ compensation benefits, assuming a number of conditions are met. Please click here to download the complete Executive Order. 

Reduced Hours or Layoffs: Workers whose hours have been reduced or who have been laid off due to COVID-19 may be able to file for Unemployment Insurance (UI). UI provides partial wage replacement benefit payments to workers who lose their job or have their hours reduced, through no fault of their own. **Starting Sunday, for the week ending April 11, 2020, the EDD will begin paying an additional $600 on top of your current weekly benefit amount with the extra money coming from the federal government as part of the federal CARES Act.** Please click here for more information.

Self-Employed, Independent Contractors and Business Owners:  The Pandemic Unemployment Assistance program helps unemployed Californians who are business owners, self-employed, independent contractors, or otherwise not eligible for regular Unemployment Insurance. Please click here for more information.  

Health Insurance: Covered California has extended their special enrollment period through the end of June.  Anyone uninsured or who has recently had a change in their household income may qualify for financial help to lower the cost of a plan and enroll in health coverage through Covered California, or may qualify for MediCal.  Please click here for more information. 

Caregivers: Workers caring for an ill or quarantined family member may be able to file for up to six weeks of Paid Family Leave. Benefit amounts are approximately 60-70 percent of wages (depending on income) and range from $50-$1,300 a week.  Please click here for more information.

School Closures: If your child’s school is closed, and you have to miss work to be there for them, you may be eligible for Unemployment Insurance benefits. Eligibility considerations include if you have no other care options and if you are unable to continue working your normal hours remotely. Please click here for more information.