Sister Cities

Alameda’s Sister City program works to promote cultural understanding and cooperation with cities around the world, and to strengthen international partnerships at the municipal and person-to-person levels. Alameda currently has three active Sister Cities, and one active Friendship City:

Sister Cities

  • Jiangyin, China (2008)
  • Dumaguete, Philippines (2015)
  • Yeongdong-gun, South Korea (2017)
  • Varazze, Italy (2019)

Friendship City

  • Wuxi, China (2005)


The Sister City program is a partnership between the City of Alameda and the Alameda Sister Cities Association (ASCA), a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization established in 2009. Prior to 2009, the Sister Cities program was facilitated by the Social Service Human Relations Board (SSHRB) Sister City Workgroup. ASCA evaluates and recommends new Sister Cities for adoption and, as a representative of the City of Alameda, organizes and supports all Sister City activities, including fundraising and hosting cultural events, economic exchanges, delegation visits, and humanitarian efforts, among other activities.

For more information: