Recreation & Parks

smaller-banner.png

ARPD OFFICE IS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC
Business Hours:  Monday to Friday - 8:30 am to 5:30 pm

 ONLINE PARK RESERVATIONS & REGISTRATIONS STILL AVAILABLE
CLICK HERE TO GET STARTED

Alameda Recreation and Park Department (ARPD)

ARPD is proud to be the third oldest park system in the State of California with 24 parks serving more than 15,000 people annually.  ARPD is organized into three divisions: Recreation Services - providing activities for toddlers, children, teens, families and adults; Mastick Senior Center - offering services to adults 50 and better; and Park Maintenance - tending to and keeping our parks clean and safe.  We strive to be resourceful, responsive and collaborative as an integral part of our island city. 

 

  • Click here for list of our Parks and Facilities
  • Click here(PDF, 2MB) for a Map of ARPD Facilities and Parks
  • Click here to Request A Memorial Bench/Picnic Table
  • Click here to Request A Memorial Bench/Picnic Table for Jean Sweeney Open Space Park

You may reserve certain ARPD facilities for parties, weddings, special events and family functions.  Just click on the links below for more details:

  • Click here to reserve Picnic Areas
  • Click here to reserve the John Ratto Bocce Courts
  • Click here to reserve Recreation Centers
  • Click here to reserve the Albert H. DeWitt Officers' Club
  • Click here to reserve Fields & Sports Facilities
  • Click here(PDF, 97KB) for Pickleball Rental Policy & Rental Form

Join Our Team!  Part-Time Recreation Positions Available
Click here for Job Descriptions and to Apply Online

Amy Wooldridge
Recreation and Parks Director
Phone:  510-747-7570
Email:  awooldridge@alamedaca.gov

Jackie Krause
Recreation Manager

Phone:  510-747-7510

Email:  jkrause@alamedaca.gov

Matt Nowlen
Park Manager
Phone:  510-227-9608
Email:  mnowlen@alamedaca.gov

Eric Vlnar
Park Maintenance Supervisor
Phone:  510-747-7587
Email:  evlnar@alamedaca.gov

Patrick Russi
Recreation Manager
Phone:  510-747-7550
Email:  prussi@alamedaca.gov

Christina Bailey
Recreation Supervisor I
Phone:  510-747-7554
Email:  cbailey@alamedaca.gov
Key Programs:  Pre-K and Youth

Edward Kallas
Recreation Supervisor I
Phone:  510-747-7511
Email:  ekallas@alamedaca.gov
Key Programs:  Senior Programs, Travel, Pickleball

Shawn Smith
Recreation Supervisor I
Phone:  510-747-7555
Email:  sdsmith@alamedaca.gov
Key Programs:  Teens, Classes, Special Needs

Stacy Thomas
Recreation Supervisor I
Phone:  510-747-7586
Email:  sthomas@alamedaca.gov
Key Programs:  Aquatics, Sports, Field & Alameda Point Gym Rentals

Juan Aguilar
Recreation Assistant
Phone:  510-747-7575
Email:  jaguilar@alamedaca.gov
Key Programs:  Youth, Teen & Senior Assistant

Katherine Sirota
Office Assistant
Phone:  510-747-7576
Email:  ksirota@alamedaca.gov
Key Programs:  Picnic and Facility Rentals

General Information
Phone:  510-747-7529 ext. 1
Email:  arpd@alamedaca.gov

 

The City of Alameda continues to require all participants and staff to wear masks while indoors at all city facilities, including while participating in all ARPD classes and programs.  As of November 1, 2021, Alameda County eased some masking requirements for fully vaccinated people in limited indoor settings, however this change does not apply to ARPD programs.

The new County rule allows a business to not require masks indoors only if everyone is vaccinated, vaccination proof is confirmed for all individuals, and in controlled settings that are not open to the general public.  Given that the City is not checking vaccination status and serves the public, the City is continuing to require masks for all indoor activities.

To review Alameda County's press release stating the details of the new rule, click here.  Thank you for understanding and continuing to do your part to keep our whole community safe.